-The K Zone-

December 5th  2016

 clllyk1wkae9aat

Kevin Gowdy was drafted by the Phillies in the second round this year and is now ranked as the #9 Prospect in the Phillies Organization. This year he just came off of a spectacular high school season with a .27 ERA. Also in 2015 he went on to help the Team U.S.A 18U team win a gold medal and some of his teammates included other top draft picks this year like Will Benson, Blake Rutherford, and the First pick of the Draft Mickey Moniak. Deciding to sign with the Phillies rather then attending UCLA, he knows what he wants; and thats to play professional baseball!  Here my interview with Phillies next sensation Kevin Gowdy.

Mike Duffy: What makes you so successful as a pitcher?

Kevin Gowdy:  The mental part of pitching is a big huge part
of it for any pitcher. Once you get to the professional level, so many pitchers have such good stuff and I think it’s the ones who are mentally tough and can compete that end up being successful in the big leagues.

Mike Duffy: Whats your favorite thing about pitching?

Kevin Gowdy:  My favorite thing about pitching is being handed the ball every seven days and just going out there and doing what I can to help my team win
Mike Duffy: Was it a tough decision to sign rather then going to UCLA?

Kevin Gowdy:  It was definetly a tough decision deciding to sign instead of going to UCLA. There were so many great things about each option, but so far I’m very happy with my decision of signing.
clllyk1wyaau1ld

Mike Duffy: What was it like to win the gold medal?

Kevin Gowdy: Winning a gold medal with Team USA was unlike anything I’ve ever done. Playing with your country on your chest just takes everything to a new level, and I still get goosebumps by just thinking about when we won.

Mike Duffy: What went through you head when you were drafted?
 
Kevin Gowdy:Getting drafted was one of the most exciting moments of my life. I tried to not think about it, but I was really anxious just to see what would happen in the draft.

Mike Duffy: Goal for next year?

Kevin Gowdy: My goal for next year is to stay healthy and just keep doing what I can to become a better pitcher.

Mike Duffy: Most exciting thing about being a Philly?

Kevin Gowdy: The most exciting thing about being a Phillie is just being able to come to the park everyday and learn from all the great coaches and teammates we have. Everyone is always there to help you and I’m thankful to be in such a great organization.

Mike Duffy: Who is your role model?

Kevin Gowdy: My role models are my parents. They’ve always taught me to be the best person I can and to have perseverance and never give up no matter what the situation may be.

Mike Duffy: Do you have a motto you live by?

Kevin Gowdy: A motto I live by is “next best thing”, whether that be in baseball in life. Life has its up’s and downs, and baseball can be such an unpredictable game so you always have to move on and think what is the next best thing I can do, regardless of the situation. Thank you for all the questions! I really appreciate it
