-The K Zone-

January 7th  2017

Shane was a key part of the Batavia Muckdogs (Marlins A short, affiliate.)  this year, posting a 1.93 era in 33 innings.

 

Mike Duffy: How did you get a better control on the ball to get your era down?

 

Shane Sawczak: I learned how to locate my fastball. Throwing it on both sides of the plate and getting ahead of the hitters. First pitch strikes are key.

 

 

Mike Duffy: What do you need to work on this off season?

 

Shane Sawczak: I need to learn how to locate my off-speed better. Improve better spin on my curveball and throw it for a strike and for a strike out pitch. Then simple improve mechanics and the small things.

 

 

Mike Duffy: Hardest thing about pitching?

 

Shane Sawczak:  The hardest thing about pitching is knowing you will get hit and give up runs but you gotta move past it and keep pitching.

 

 

Mike Duffy: Best thing about pitching?

 

Shane Sawczak: The best thing about pitching is knowing that you are on the mound pitching for your team, then trusting you and you having their backs. Also striking someone out or in my case picking them off at first base (that’s my specialty)

 

 

 

Mike Duffy: Favorite things to do during the off-season?

 

Shane Sawczak: Favorite thing about off-season and relaxing with friends and family. Learning about myself and looking forward to next season. Working out everyday to get bigger and stronger!

 

 

Mike Duffy: Role model?

 

Shane Sawczak: My role model is my mom. She’s strong and helps me out with everything. Teaches me about training and eating the correct food.

 

Mike Duffy: Favorite thing about being a marlin?

 

Shane Sawczak: The best thing about being a marlin has to be the location. I also live in south Florida and that’s where they are based. I grew up going to the games and cheering them on.

 

 

Mike Duffy: Do you have a motto?

 

Shane Sawczak: I have several mottos

  1. Your very best (YVB)
  2. Take care of the little things, and the big things will take care of themselves
  3. Always stay saucey (lmao)

Sawczak2-1.jpeg

