Jackson Rutledge: The New Face of the Nats​

-The K Zone-

June 28th, 2019

Jackson Rutledge

Interview by Mike Duffy


YOSH3JUGMYI6THLT4K5GXPY3TM.jpg


Welcome back to The K Zone. Today we dive into the life of the Nationals First Round Pick of 2019! Jackson Rutledge went 17th overall in 2019 and is looking forward to being a major arm in an organization that excels in developing Ace Pitchers. Get to know Jackson Rutledge before you see him on TV by reading the interview!


Mike Duffy: Who was your favorite baseball player growing up?

Jackson Rutledge: My favorite player was Adam Wainwright. He was the ace for the Cardinals growing up in St. Louis and he’s a great role model.


Screen-Shot-2017-05-25-at-12.12.32-PM.png


Mike Duffy: What was the atmosphere in studio 42 like on draft day?

Jackson Rutledge: The atmosphere was exciting but somehow relaxed. There was obviously a lot going on but everyone there seemed to be having a good time and enjoying all of it.


IMG_4289.jpg


Mike Duffy: How did getting drafted feel for you? Was it extra special getting your name called by the commissioner?

Jackson Rutledge: It was an incredible feeling. I finally felt like all that I and my family had done paid off. Having the commissioner call my name was something you dream of but never think it would be you, so having him call me was awesome.


IMG_4288.jpg


Mike Duffy: What are you most excited about joining the nationals?

Jackson Rutledge: The Nationals have a history of developing high-level pitching and getting them to the majors at a young age, so I’m excited to get a chance to be one of those players.


Mike Duffy: When did you first know you wanted to play professional baseball?

Jackson Rutledge: That had been my dream since I can remember. It only became somewhat realistic once I got to high school.


Mike Duffy: Have you always been a pitcher or did you use to play other positions?

Jackson Rutledge: I played some first base in high school but I was mostly a pitcher.


IMG_4290.jpg


Mike Duffy: Do you have any dream purchases with some of your first bit of pro ball money?

Jackson Rutledge: Nothing special other than a car. Most likely going to save as much of that as I can for now.


Mike Duffy: Have you spoken to any of the guys playing in Washington? Who are you most excited to play with?

Jackson Rutledge: I got the chance to meet a few players when I went to DC to sign which was a very cool experience. I’m most excited to play with and learn from Max Scherzer.


usa_today_12533096.0.jpg


Mike Duffy: Besides your hard work, is there anyone else you would like to thank who attributed to your success?

Jackson Rutledge: My family has definitely helped a lot to get me where I am. Also, all of the coaches I’ve had over the years from high school, travel ball, and everyone at San Jac.


Mike Duffy: What is your all-time favorite movie?

Jackson Rutledge: My favorite movie is either Anchorman or Shawshank Redemption.


12440623.jpg


Mike Duffy: What have been some of your favorite tv shows?

Jackson Rutledge: My favorite TV shows are the Office, Parks and Rec, and Brooklyn 99.


0befc052a2e268c86627d89cd378c4f0.jpg


Mike Duffy: Any musicians that stick out to you?

Jackson Rutledge: My favorite musicians are Nas, Vince Staples, and Kendrick Lamar.


Mike Duffy: What song is currently stuck in your head?

Jackson Rutledge: I’ve had Fireball by Pitbull stuck in my head all week because that’s all we listen to in the GCL.


DEdDy15W0AERZcP.jpg


For more Interviews Click Here

For more updates on articles follow us on Instagram @thekzonenews

Comment below on how we can improve the articles!

Thanks for reading!


 

2 Comments

  1. Jackson Rutledge of San Jacinto becomes just the fourth junior college baseball player to be named a semifinalist for the coveted Golden Spikes Award!

    Like

Leave a Comment