Ryan Scott: Dodgers to Angels to Mariners

The K Zone

November 22nd 2016

Updated on December 3rd 2017

Ryan Scott

Interviewed By Mike Duffy


cpnrnruvyaayd


Mike Duffy: I was wondering when you go from high school, minor leagues, to the majors, what was the biggest challenge when you reach each stage?
Ryan Scott: Well when you’re on the field you quickly realize that you’re always playing the same game. The game might get a little quicker and competition might be better but it’s always the same game I’ve played my whole life. I think the biggest challenge is trying to stay within yourself and not try to do more than you’re capable of doing just because of the level you’re at.

Mike Duffy: What did you do best in the 2016 season?

Ryan Scott: What I did best that season in my eyes was my ability to help control the pitching staff I was fortunate enough to work with. As well as controlling the running game as a catcher. I threw out over 50% of base stealers this year and I was very proud of myself for that.

Mike Duffy: What was your favorite memory the 2016 season?

Ryan Scott: My favorite memory from the 2016 season is no doubt winning the pioneer league championship! Such a great accomplishment for my teammates and I and I was psyched we were able to pull out the win!

owlz960_4yb9uuob_s7e6sopz-1.jpg

Mike Duffy: Whats your favorite team you have played for? Why?
Ryan Scott: Being in the Angels organization it was a blessing and my team I was on this past offseason, the Orem Owlz, was definitely one of my favorites! As well as my high school team my senior year because we won a state championship in AZ in 2013 and I was able to play with all my best friends from school.

k2Ka6K78.jpg


Mike Duffy: Whats your favorite stadium?
Ryan Scott: Favorite stadium I’ve ever been to would probably be Angels Stadium! Grew up a Halos fan and so getting to take a trip to Anaheim to go to a game was awesome! I’ve played in Chase Field in high school so that was a lot of fun too!

angel13960.jpg

chase_field_480x200-1.jpg

Mike Duffy: What was the hardest thing about changing to catching?
Ryan Scott:  Hardest thing about catching in general, that many young catchers learn, is you have to have the will and drive and you really have to love the position and everything that comes with it. You have to be able to take the hit. You get hit by foul balls about every game so you have to be willing to shake off any pain and not let that affect your game and the way you’re going to control your pitching staff.

mlbf_543835083_th_45.jpg

Mike Duffy: What was it like to  win the championship?
Ryan Scott: The championship was amazing! The group of guys we had on our team had so fun this year and it was only right that we came out with the trophy! Getting to have a champagne celebration in the locker room is a feeling that is hard to describe! Definitely best moment I’ve had on a baseball field!

Mike Duffy: Who was your favorite player growing up?

Ryan Scott: My two favorite players were Big Bad Vlad Guerrero and Pudge Rodriguez! Pudge was an inspiration for me as a defensive catcher I pushed myself to be like him!


1200px-Vladimir_Guerrero_2011.jpg


ivan-rodriguez-jaws-hall-of-fame.jpg


Mike Duffy: Whats your favorite hobby besides baseball?

Ryan Scott: My favorite hobby besides baseball is definitely Golfing. All winter in Arizona I have the luxury of golfing with my dad and it’s something I definitely don’t take for granted.


TTD_Golfing_Billboard_03.jpg


Mike Duffy: Whats your favorite Movie?

Ryan Scott: My favorite movie is probably “Miracle”. The movie about the 1980 US Olympic hockey team.


miracle-landscape.jpg


Mike Duffy: Whats your favorite T.V. show?

Ryan Scott: My favorite show is How I Met Your Mother. I’ve seen every episode at least six or seven times and watch it almost every night.


himym2.jpg


Mike Duffy: Do you have a motto?

Ryan Scott: I wouldn’t say I necessarily have a motto, but there is a quote by Jackie Robinson (“A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives”) that I like to emulate in my daily life.


a-life-is-not-important-except-in-the-impact-it-has-on-other-lives-quote-2.jpg


Mike Duffy: Whats your favorite part about the Mariners organization?

Ryan Scott: My favorite part about the Mariners organization is definitely the people I’ve met. From coaches to coordinators to front office staff to my teammates, I’ve been very lucky to meet some amazing people. My teammates especially because I get to hang out with them everyday and have made friendships that I’ll remember forever.


3dd090336b3bfb8dc9006e8099d82e8e.jpg


For more Interviews Click Here

For more updates on articles follow us on Instagram @thekzonenews

Comment below on how we can improve the articles!

Thanks for reading!

1 Comment

Leave a Comment